Andrea Dalzell- High Roller #16

1 Comment

With more shoes and books on her Kindle than one can count Andrea Dalzell is beautiful, brainy…and SOOO BACKBONES!

At 6 years old Andrea was diagnosed with Transverse Myelitis and was using a wheelchair by the age of 12. She is currently living in Brooklyn and studying at the College of Staten Island majoring in Medical Technology and Biology. Andrea is well on her way to achieving her dream of becoming a doctor. When not studying she stays active, volunteers and educates others about disability through speaking engagements or just a casual conversation in the hallway. Read more about Andrea!

Accomplishment you’re most proud of? Being completely independent. I don’t need anyone’s help to support me.
Do you have a mentor? Yes, everyone out there with a spinal cord injury. Without their strength I wouldn’t push myself to be who I am.
Favorite band/kind of music/musician: Anything! It ranges from old R&B, heavy metal, Christian rock…
Favorite books? I LOOOVE to read! I have over 300 books on my Kindle!
How many have you read? All of them!

Favorite food? I love food…Mmm. Can I decide on one thing…? When I think food, I think dessert. I like to eat dessert first.
Favorite beverage? Water with lemon, and Angry Orchid Beer
Favorite websites? Pintrest!
Do you drive? Yes, I use hand controls and transfer out of my wheelchair. My chair weighs 13 lbs. so it’s easy to put it in the car.
Where did you go on your last vacation? Dominican Republic

Do you have a pet? My dog Fluff. She is 15 years old and I’ve had her since she was a puppy
What’s your dream job? A doctor specializing in spinal cord injury and spinal disorders
Do you work out or play any sports? Rowing! It’s my favorite of all time… I also play Basketball.
Activities/Hobbies? Driving too fast for my own good… and reading.
Hidden talents? Getting out of a speeding ticket. I can fast talk my way out of a ticket.
How many tickets have you “almost” gotten? Ohh…A LOT! A LOT!

What irritates you? Ignorance. Ignorance towards people but also just lack of common sense
What do you consider awesome? Kids. They have the ability to see past anything.
Where would you love to live? California
What takes up the majority of your time? School and studying
What do you wish you had more time for? Eating and sleeping
If I take a look inside your refrigerator what would I find? Beer, a bottle of wine, grapes, and cheese… Oh hey, I guess I’m pretty classy! I can host something!

Dinner with anyone, dead or alive, who would it be? What would you ask them? Michelle Obama. She is a strong woman of color. She’s been through the ringer and look at her, there she is now, the 1st Lady. I’d like to ask her what her strategy is to get past it and still remain humble.

During your child hood what was your favorite cartoon? Tom & Jerry
Describe your sixth grade school picture. Oh, well..I had braces. My hair was in long braids with multi-colored ribbons in them…and BIG, PINK glasses. Not cute at all…
Favorite original Nintendo game? Tetris from Gameboy
Your default karaoke song? Holla Back Girl by Gwen Stefani

A short term goal:  Finish college with at least a 3.8 average
A Long term goal: To be a doctor, making a difference.

A quote you like: “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.” – Elenor Roosevelt

Anything else you want to tell BACKBONES? Continue to be strong cuz that’s what BACKBONES are for!

1 Comment

  1. Hassan
    August 18, 2017

    Great response and great spirit keep your dreams in site. Thank u. I’m in Atlanta ga now but from lovely California and could show you around anything ✌️ Fb Hass Muhammad IG iam_hasstheboss on Nextstep Atlanta fb/IG page also

Leave a Comment