The BACKBONES Youth Program is for teenagers (ages 15-18) with spinal cord injuries and disease (SCI/D) to build self-advocacy skills and learn about topics important to youth with disabilities. Some topics include Going to College, Storytelling & Social Media, Employment, Recreation & Travel, Dating, and many more! This virtual program meets weekly from June through August. It is a fun opportunity to connect with other individuals with SCI/D and learn directly from leaders and professionals in the disability community.

About the Program

  • Program participants meet weekly via Zoom from mid-June to mid-August
  • Guest speakers and interactive activities
  • Meet other teenagers with SCI/D, make new friends, and receive and provide unique support 
  • Receive a $500 stipend
  • Weekly sessions are 2 hours long every Wednesday at 11am PST / 1pm CST / 2pm EST

NOTIFICATIONS: Early May 2024
PROGRAM DATES: June 12, 2024 to August 10, 2024
For questions contact Amanda Russel at arussel@backbonesonline.com

If you are between the ages of 15-18 and are living with SCI/D please complete the form below to apply!

Video Profile

Create a short video (no more than 90 seconds) explaining the following:

Who are you and what are your personal/professional interests?
What do you hope to gain from this program?

Parent Contact Information

Parent or Guardian will receive a copy of this application once submitted and will be required to complete a consent form upon acceptance to the program.