The BACKBONES Youth Summer Program is for teenagers (ages 14-18) with spinal cord injuries and disease (SCI/D) to build self-advocacy skills and learn about topics important to youth with disabilities. Some topics include Going to College, Storytelling & Social Media, Employment, Recreation & Travel, Dating, and many more! This is a new virtual program that meets weekly from June through August. It is a fun opportunity to connect with other individuals with SCI/D and learn directly from leaders and professionals in the disability community. If you are between the ages of 15-18 and are living with SCI/D please complete the form below to apply!

About the Program

  • Program participants meet weekly via Zoom from mid-June to mid-August
  • Guest speakers and interactive activities
  • Meet other teenagers with SCI/D and make new friends
  • Receive a $500 stipend
  • Photo session with a professional photographer
  • Weekly sessions are 2 hours long every Wednesday at 11am PST / 1pm CST / 2pm EST

PROGRAM DATES: June 15, 2022 to August 17, 2022

For questions contact Michael Maruzzi at mmaruzzi@backbonesonline.com

This program is funded by the Craig H. Neilsen Foundation