Abby Farrell – High Roller #18


At age 15 Abby Farrell is unstoppable! She is the future of sports! Abby works hard in school and in her free time plays sports. Her energy and enthusiasm is contagious and we want you to get to know a little more about this High Roller!
Injury Level: L3-L4
Cause of Injury: I was born with Spina Bifida so I have to use a wheelchair, crutches and leg braces
Siblings: I have one little sister who’s 11
Hometown: Colorado Springs, CO
Education/Degrees: I am a high school sophomore working on my high school diploma and college prep
Accomplishment you’re proud of? I have been named to the all-tournament teams for two basketball tournaments this year and I competed in the 2014 National Junior Disability Championships in track where I won the 100m, 200m, 400m and 800m and set a national record in the 800m.
Do you have a mentor? Who? Why?  My coaches (Christina Schwab, Ryan Wright, and Jen Chew) because they teach me to never give up and to reach for the stars
Favorite films? Soul Surfer and Pitch Perfect
Favorite books; favorite authors? Determined to Win by Jean Driscoll
Favorite restaurant/food? Any type of Italian food
Favorite beverage? Gatorade
Favorite websites? Youtube
Who do you live with?  I live with my mom, dad, my sister Zoe and our three-legged dog named Roo
Where did you go on your last vacation? Me and my family took a road trip over Christmas to visit family in Kansas.
What’s your dream job? My dream job is to work with kids with physical disabilities
Do you work out or play any sports? I play basketball and I compete in track and skiing.
Activities/Hobbies? I love playing sports and traveling (especially to NYC!)
Hidden talents? I can hold a wheelie in my wheelchair for over three hours!
What irritates you? When people with disabilities aren’t considered real athletes
What do you consider awesome? When people with disabilities succeed despite people telling them they can’t
Where would you love to live? California
What takes up the majority of your time? Sports
What do you do in your free time? I play sports and spend time with friends and family
What do you wish you had more time for? Travel
A short term goal: To graduate high school and play basketball or do track in college
A Long term goal: To work with kids with disabilities
A quote you like: The only disability in life is a bad attitude.


Leave a Comment