John Haines- High Roller #6


Ask John where his best vacation spot has been, and he will answer, “The best place is the next place.”

John Haines was traveling when he was injured in 1999 by a train in the Czech Republic. The injury did not squash the travel bug… World traveler and lover of the outdoors, John has visited many countries while in a chair working with MercyCorps including China, Nepal and Scotland and can’t wait to get to Egypt this January on a MercyCorps program.

Oh, did I mention he’s kind of a big deal in the Northwest. John is Executive Director for MercyCorps Northwest in Portland, OR. He is dedicated to helping increase self-sufficiency through self-employment. His days are sprinkled with developing community programs and teaching business classes to encarcerated women.

Not only is he a cool cat, but he has helped transform BACKBONES in the past few months by taking us under his wing and exposing BACKBONES to the ins and outs of Nonprofit Management. Meet John Haines.

Injury Level: C7

Status (single, married, etc.)…. Etc.

Siblings: Younger brother and sister (twins)

Hometown: Laramie, Wyoming

Current  residence: Portland, Oregon

Accomplishment you’re proud of? Learning to swim after my injury

Favorite band/kind of music/musician: Led Zeppelin. Saw them in concert 1979- England!

Favorite films: Not a movie buff… But I have a compiled list of 100 Best Movies from friends. (Now he just needs to take two weeks vacation and watch them.)

Favorite magazines: The Economist and National Geographic

Favorite food: Pizza. And lobster. But not together.

Favorite beverage: A beer that someone buys for me


Who do you live with? Mungo- a sort of Irish setter

Do you own a car? What make? Yes a van. Toyota.

Where did you go on your last vacation? Wyoming this summer

Do you go out much? Yes. To the wilderness. Outdoors. I go alone, or with Mungo

What’s your dream job? To own a bakery. Be a baker.

Do you work out or play any sports? Kayak and handcycle

Hobbies? Writing, birdwatching and kayaking

Hidden talents? None… (we don’t believe him)

What irritates you? People that park in wheelchair parking spots illegally and late people

What do you consider awesome? The seasons changing


Where would you love to live? Nambia

What takes up the majority of your time? work

What do you do in your free time? Read, write, cook, clean…procrastinate

What do you wish you had more time for? My friends and family


If I take a look inside your refrigerator what would I find? Everything! Veggies, leftovers, beer, juice… Most interesting thing in the refrigerator now are capers wrapped in anchovies…cats will follow you if you eat them!

Dinner with anyone, dead or alive, who would it be? What would you ask them? My great great grandmother. She had two husbands pass away and raised three children. Just want to know what made her tick.

During your child hood what was your favorite cartoon? Bullwinkle

How many pairs of shoes do you own? Two…and my cowboy boots

Best sweets: Gummie Bears

A short term goal: Finish writing a book. I have 10 chapters of 11 done. It’s taken four years.

A Long term goal: Identify any bird in North America



Leave a Comment